Spyware alert when surfing British Vogue
Not that I surf to the competition’s sites much but I tried to access this page today:
http://www.vogue.co.uk/vogue_daily/story/story.asp?stid=51215
only to have a spyware ad—and probably a spyware application—seize up my browser. I’ve been able to repeat it on two computers. The site was xpantivirus.com, and clicking ‘Cancel’ to the forced spyware scan won’t make the program go away. Check it out at your own risk.
We have been victims of this sort of stuff, too, but I like to think we find out about it much more quickly than Condé Nast has (so far, it hasn’t). It’s seldom the site’s fault but a problem with the ad network. I’ve emailed Condé Nast UK about it, though there’s that sneaky part of me that wants to see the error continue!
Comments
Worrying about it being on vogue mind, as I surf Men's Vogue often (not the competition, right, because it's mens?).
I know what you mean about sneakily wanting it to continue - that's me whenever I see design competitors messing up - or any superiors at work. ;)
The term, apparently, is ‘page hijack’. I suspect, Pete, that Men’s Vogue out of the US should be OK as it may have different advertisers but we do have a men’s supplement, too! Pat, I had to install an update to my Spybot last night. British Vogue got me paranoid because it did manage to hijack my laptop (you should have seen me pull out cords! That’s something you can’t do with wifi!) when I surfed to confirm, though I was able to close the window successfully on my desktop machine.